Normal view

Navigation and service

Logo Destatis - Statistisches Bundesamt, Link to homepage

Franz Kroppenstedt

President from 1980 to 1983

Franz Kroppenstedt was born in Marburg in 1931. He studied law in Marburg, too.

Before being appointed President of the Federal Statistical Office, Franz Kroppenstedt worked at the Federal Administrative Court and at the local authorities of the town of Eschwege. In 1962, he joined the Federal Ministry of the Interior.

Mr. Kroppenstedt’s term as President of the Federal Statistical Office and Federal Returning Officer lasted about three and a half years, from 1 January 1980 to 15 May 1983.

Already during the terms of Patrick Schmidt and Dr. Hildegard Bartels, bottlenecks occurred in dealing with the workload, which was caused by the extended federal statistics programme. Consequently, the field of official statistics was checked and the first law on the adjustment of statistics was adopted in 1980. In addition to the cuts required by that law, Franz Kroppenstedt initiated organisational measures to create scope for new activities despite the reduction of budget funds. As an experienced administrative official, he also was very much committed to the timely production of statistics and set up a deadline controlling system.

In the early 1980s, official statistics became an issue of public controversy because of the population census scheduled for 1983. Due to the so-called population census judgment, the census was postponed from 1983 to 1987.

In May 1983, Mr. Kroppenstedt was appointed State Secretary at the Federal Ministry of the Interior.

Additional Information


Dr. Georg Thiel, president since 2017

Dr. Georg Thiel
President since 2017

Former Presidents

Dieter Sarreither, president since 2015

Dieter Sarreither
from 2015 to 2017

Roderich Egeler, president since 2008

Roderich Egeler
from 2008 to 2015

Walter Radermacher, President from 2006 to 2008

Walter Radermacher
from 2006 to 2008

Johann Hahlen, President from 1995 to 2006

Johann Hahlen
from 1995 to 2006

Hans Günther Merk, President from 1992 to 1995

Hans Günther Merk
from 1992 to 1995

Egon Hölder, President from 1983 to 1992

Egon Hölder
from 1983 to 1992

Franz Kroppenstedt, President from 1980 to 1983

Franz Kroppenstedt
from 1980 to 1983

Dr. Hildegard Bartels, President from 1972 to 1980

Dr. Hildegard Bartels
from 1972 to 1980

Patrick Schmidt, President from 1964 to 1972

Patrick Schmidt
from 1964 to 1972

Dr. Dr. h.c. Gerhard Fürst, President from 1948 to 1964

Dr. Dr. h.c. Gerhard Fürst
from 1948 to 1964

© Statistisches Bundesamt (Destatis), 2018

Imprint – data protection – contact

Note on the use of cookies

We use cookies to provide you with an optimum website design and to continuously improve it. Access data are stored only in an anonymised form for optimisation purposes. By continuing to use this website, you agree to the use of cookies and to the storage of access data. For more information please refer to our data protection declaration.