Normal view

Navigation and service

Logo Destatis - Statistisches Bundesamt, Link to homepage

Walter Radermacher

President from 2006 to 2008

Walter Radermacher has been President of the Federal Statistical Office from 22 December 2006 to 2008. He was born in Walheim (near Aachen) on 10 June 1952. After finishing his Business Administration studies, Walter Radermacher joined the Federal Statistical Office in 1978 and there he learned official statistics from scratch. His experience ranges from conducting large-scale censuses to setting up the system of Environmental-Economic Accounting. Before being appointed Vice-President (2003), Walter Radermacher in his function of Head of the Administration Department made the modernisation of administration his priority task. In addition, he supported the reduction of statistical response duties of enterprises and made the measurement of administrative costs, using the Standard Cost Model (SCM), a task of official statistics.

The first six months of Walter Radermacher's term as President of the Federal Statistical Office were also the time of the German EU Presidency. In the first half of 2007, as Chairman of the Council Working Group on Statistics, he benefited from his long experience in European and international statistics.

Walter Radermacher's sphere of competence includes the function of Federal Returning Officer.

Walter Radermacher has taken up the post as Eurostat Director-General on 1 August 2008.

Additional Information


Dr. Georg Thiel, president since 2017

Dr. Georg Thiel
President since 2017

Former Presidents

Dieter Sarreither, president since 2015

Dieter Sarreither
from 2015 to 2017

Roderich Egeler, president since 2008

Roderich Egeler
from 2008 to 2015

Walter Radermacher, President from 2006 to 2008

Walter Radermacher
from 2006 to 2008

Johann Hahlen, President from 1995 to 2006

Johann Hahlen
from 1995 to 2006

Hans Günther Merk, President from 1992 to 1995

Hans Günther Merk
from 1992 to 1995

Egon Hölder, President from 1983 to 1992

Egon Hölder
from 1983 to 1992

Franz Kroppenstedt, President from 1980 to 1983

Franz Kroppenstedt
from 1980 to 1983

Dr. Hildegard Bartels, President from 1972 to 1980

Dr. Hildegard Bartels
from 1972 to 1980

Patrick Schmidt, President from 1964 to 1972

Patrick Schmidt
from 1964 to 1972

Dr. Dr. h.c. Gerhard Fürst, President from 1948 to 1964

Dr. Dr. h.c. Gerhard Fürst
from 1948 to 1964

© Statistisches Bundesamt (Destatis), 2018

Imprint – data protection – contact

Note on the use of cookies

We use cookies to provide you with an optimum website design and to continuously improve it. Access data are stored only in an anonymised form for optimisation purposes. By continuing to use this website, you agree to the use of cookies and to the storage of access data. For more information please refer to our data protection declaration.