Normal view

Navigation and service

Logo Destatis - Statistisches Bundesamt, Link to homepage

Dieter Sarreither

President since 2015

On 2 October 2015, Dieter Sarreither was appointed President of the Federal Statistical Office (Destatis) and Federal Returning Officer. He succeeded Roderich Egeler, who retired.

Since 1 July 2011, Dieter Sarreither had been Vice-President of the Federal Statistical Office. At this Office, he had been Head of the Department on "Information Technology, Mathematical-Statistical Methods" since 2000. Since 2011, he had been Vice-President of the Federal Statistical Office and Deputy Federal Returning Officer.

Dieter Sarreither was born in Frankenthal/Pfalz in 1951. After finishing his mathematics and economics studies in Heidelberg and Mainz, he started his professional career in operations research and system analysis in the private sector.

In 1982, he joined the Federal Statistical Office and became Assistant Head of Section in software development. Afterwards, he was Head of Section and Head of Division and was responsible for the development of strategies, standards and software tools for the information technology within the system of statistical offices.

As IT Director, he launched manifold initiatives to implement e-government in official statistics. Under the heading of e-statistics, they led to a comprehensive modernisation of statistical processes.

Dieter Sarreither is married and has two daughters.

Additional Information


Dieter Sarreither, president since 2015

Dieter Sarreither
President since 2015

Former Presidents

Roderich Egeler, president since 2008

Roderich Egeler
from 2008 to 2015

Walter Radermacher, President from 2006 to 2008

Walter Radermacher
from 2006 to 2008

Johann Hahlen, President from 1995 to 2006

Johann Hahlen
from 1995 to 2006

Hans Günther Merk, President from 1992 to 1995

Hans Günther Merk
from 1992 to 1995

Egon Hölder, President from 1983 to 1992

Egon Hölder
from 1983 to 1992

Franz Kroppenstedt, President from 1980 to 1983

Franz Kroppenstedt
from 1980 to 1983

Dr. Hildegard Bartels, President from 1972 to 1980

Dr. Hildegard Bartels
from 1972 to 1980

Patrick Schmidt, President from 1964 to 1972

Patrick Schmidt
from 1964 to 1972

Dr. Dr. h.c. Gerhard Fürst, President from 1948 to 1964

Dr. Dr. h.c. Gerhard Fürst
from 1948 to 1964

© Statistisches Bundesamt (Destatis), 2017

Imprint – contact