Europe EU Member States

The European Union currently comprises 27 Member States. This association of states began in 1952 with the foundation of the European Coal and Steel Community (ECSC) by six European states, including Germany. Denmark, Ireland and the United Kingdom joined in 1973. In the 1980s, the southern enlargement of the EU followed with Portugal, Spain and Greece. The year 1995 marks the accession of Finland, Sweden and Austria. In 2004 the East European EU enlargement was completed, Malta and Cyprus joined also - the number of Member States increasing from 15 to 25. A few years later Romania and Bulgaria (2007) joined followed by Croatia in 2013. In 2020, the United Kingdom became the first Member State ever to leave the European Union.

United Kingdom: EU Member 1973 to 2020.